I need help with 1997 and up GTP's

Dannymik

This past winter I was on the hunt for a TGP and never scored a deal. One of my concerns was that I'm not a mechanic and up until this past month there weren't any real nice ones for sale...most had high mileage and a list of issues. Now I have been eyeing the 1997-2003 GTP's. I know that the price is going to hurt a bit, but you can't go wrong with the 3800. I want something that is not a headache/reliable and has a good aftermarket if I get the itching for more speed. I've heard a few rumbles in here about the problems the '97 GTP's have. Now if any of you were in my shoes what year/years would you be intersted in? Personally I have been trying to avoid the '97/'98 models, but thats only cas I don't feel comfortable with buying those years. Any specific help on the differences between the model years would be of great help....you know the good, the bad, and the ugly! :think:

This is a decent guide to "differences" over the years.

http://auto.consumerguide.com/auto/used/reviews/full/index.cfm/id/2315

I haven't heard anything too bad about 97-98 model GTP's(the 97's are the ones people usually say to stay away from) myself, I've seen a few around here with pretty high mileage still running strong with very few problems.

The 97's and possibly the 98's are cheaper on insurance though because insurance companies only considered it a GT, not a GTP. Also, it seems as if only half of the 97' and 98's had problems and the other half were perfectly fine. Mainly the problems i've heard with these years are electrical problems.

99-00 best years imo. Digital climate control and have performance shift button. In 01 they did away with both of those features and you get manual dual climate control. If you get a good deal on a 97 or 98 go for it. I havent heard much bad about them.