Rebuilding the LG5

R Dubya

Ok so I will be pulling the block on Wednesday hopefully, heads are going to the shop before so I can have them ready to install when the block is cleaned and ready to go. I have some questions on what I should be doing here as far as replacement goes..

The guy at the machine shop told me ~$300 to disassemble, clean and glaze, then reassemble the block with new cam, lifters, main and rod bearings, etc.

I want to do this myself though. I have the service manual so torque specs are taken care of, but I've never done this so I'm a newbie and need advice on what else I should replace. The machinist told me to remove the freeze plugs and something else, and says he wouldn't install the old oil pump because of the metal from the cam lobe. Also cam tensioner and chain. Anything else that should be done? I'm fairly sure I will be doing this all myself so I can save the cash for parts. Thanks.

Guest TurboSedan

cam bearings and piston rings (you probably already know that). i'm getting a quote on rebuilding my LG5 in the near future, except i'll be disassembling it myself. i'll let you know what they tell me. are you going with oversized pistons? i definately would get a new oil pump!

are you getting the heads resurfaced or just a valve job & seals? new valve springs? just curious....i'm a newbie at this too :oops: i'm going to be getting Mahle .020 pistons, stock GM cam/lifters/timing chain, new valve springs, new Melling oil pump, GM head gaskets and head bolts etc. i'm not going to do anything too far out like o-ring the block or head studs...yet...

let us know how it turns out and good luck!

btw..."clean and glaze"....does that mean hot tank & magnaflux?