Getting the most out of my 1996 3100

Cornerdealy

Well, it's summer time and I've got the mod itch.

I would like to know everything that can be done to this bastard engine, minus anything really custom. Basically bolt on stuff. What can I add/change to get the most out of it? I'm not expecting huge HP gains at all.

Please be patient with me, I'm a newb to these cars and I'm still learning. I know there isn't a lot to do short of a complete engine swap, but how can I make the most out of what I got?

Hrmmm....well actually you got a pretty peppy engine there. The 3100 is a very good one (they should get it about right for their 3rd try at it :wink: )

Try some or all of these...

Performance Plugs/Wires

Motor Mounts

UD Pulley

Performance Chip

True CAI

Port & Polish

Larger TB

That should give you suggificant increase in HP!

Use parts from the 3400, the engines are similar.

EDIT: My opinion...swap to a 3.4 DOHC :D

well, you can get a bigger TB from a 3400 from a minivan (58mm) opposed to your stock 52mm. You probably have slots in your heads for roller rockers, if not roller rockers themselves. I cant remember what years got the 1.6 rollers, but those would be an easy bolt on..sorta. Some sort of exhaust and intake. Do a basic tune-up first if you havent already

Try some or all of these...

I have to interject here.........

Performance Plugs/Wires

No. Don't. GM/AC Delco make good wires and plugs, and I've actually known some GM FWD owners to run SLOWER with aftermarket ignition stuff.

Motor Mounts

Ok.........this one is good......FFP makes a nice billet aluminum dogbone with poly bushings.

UD Pulley

Another good one...FFP is again the choice of champions :wink: You can also add a 3800 altenator pulley for a touch more go power (1hp or so)............not really a good idea if you have a big stereo though.

Performance Chip