Specific questions RE: KYB struts/shocks and/or FE3 springs

gtphill

Hello!

My regal currently has an FE1 suspension with FUX front springs and the "j" (middle stiffness) rear spring. I want to change the front springs to FUZ, and place KYB GR2 shocks/struts all the way around.

I am also going to put in new strut mounts as the originals are still on the car. What I need to know is:

1. What is the part number for the strut mount that works with the FUZ spring?

2. Do I need to order the regular, or heavy duty, KYB struts.

3. What is the difference in the mounting of the two types of KYBs?

4. Is the rear transverse leaf spring removable without the GM tool? If so, how have you done it?

5. Does anyone make a good aftermarket bushing kit that i can put on the car while I am doing the struts?

I have an alldataDIY subscription for the car, but it doesn't tell me the parts needed to upgrade from the FE1 suspension.

Thanks all!

P.S. I know audio backwards and forwards, so if anyone has questions re stereo stuff, perhaps that can be my contribution to the forum.

hey man. well, about the only thing i can help you with is the rear spring, yes its removable without a special tool. if yer doin it at home, its a bitch. ive done two in my garage, but alot more at my work. getting it out is alot easier than getting it back in. heres the short, youve got two 21mm or 13/16 nutted blots at the bottom of the rear strut. pull the nuts off and pop the bolts out. theres three 10mm bolts holding a bracket in at the center of the rear spring take those and the braket off. use a clamp or long bolt depending on which setup u have to hole the knuckle in place during the whole thing. on some there is a rubber bumper that kinda looks like an 8, if it has that style, use the bolt, if not, use a clamp. the rest is basicly just fighting it out and reassembling it. try to clean out all the crud from the spring perch when u get it out. itll make the outer bushings last a little longer.