Pissed off at my DIC

SmokesGTP

Ok I'm starting to get pissed off at my DIC :lol: . I reset the average gas mileage after it being on for like 1000 miles and I drove for maybe 10 miles and pulled into my driveway. Now anyone who has one knows the instant MPG reads zero when your not moving because your obviously not going anywhere, however after I pulled in my average MPG read 18.4MPG and as I sat in my driveway it slowly ticked down by .1 increments as I sat there which leads me to believe it is somehow averaging in that zero from the instant yet if i'm not going anywhere how can that be? It normally reads my mileage as 15.4 MPG but I think I'm getting better mileage than that because after 1000 miles it takes a lot to get it to lower or raise. Any ideas?

Brian, does your intake manifold read "3.2..."?????

- Justin

Your not the only one asking that question. What the hell is up with that?

I thought I was a noob, and though, maybe there is such a thing, but others have asked too, so i dunno

John

The reason it takes so long to change after so many miles is because it is still factoring in your past 1000 miles of economy.. if you hvae shitty economy, its gonna take a hell of a lot of good constant economy to make it rise.

All I know is the setup of those things is a little fucked. I know I'm using some gas sitting in my driveway for 30 seconds but not nearly as much as I used driving that 10 miles. It's hard to explain what I mean. Plus the fact that I have no idea where the numbers come from. what relies on what and so forth. I asked this before like a year ago and no one really knew.

The reason it takes so long to change after so many miles is because it is still factoring in your past 1000 miles of economy.. if you hvae shitty economy, its gonna take a hell of a lot of good constant economy to make it rise.