I need a compass in my vert.

kaptnjack

I have been driving bonneville sse's for 15 years and I am hooked on the onboard compass. I like backroads and lost lanes and a compass sometimes helps me find my way back to civilization.

Anyway...I have been using the search function and read several pages of posts about mirror swaps and DIC's.

Anyone have a final resolution for the best prospect to add a compass function to my 93 CS vert?

J/Y's will be my parts farm so any specific info on models or types will be a big plus.

Picture003-8.jpg

What I put in my car since Cutlasses did not come with a compass of any sort. Plus the auto-dimming mirror is really nice on night drives with the top down...

Thanks Manic.

What did that piece come out of?

Does it have the courtesy lights too?

Auto dimming and temp are secondary to me...the compass and map light is the priority.

I have this Gentex mirror if you're interested in it.

IMG_2178.jpg

Auto dimming with compass, but no maplights.

PM me for more details.

Thanks for the reply Got2b

I think if I change I would like to retain the map lights.

I think a mirrror from a 91-93 seville has the compass and lights based on limited research. I am going to continue my research for now and try a JY run sometime in the future to see what I can dig up.

The ones from Intrigues have LED map lights, but consume around 200mA at all times. Very bad if you ever leave the car sitting for over a week or so.

Intrigue's BCM shuts down power to the mirror after something like 10-minutes so they don't have that problem.

Donnelly used to make a autodim compass mirror with map lights, but the compass is green, not aqua. I have one and 1/3 of the autodimming liquid leaked out. :(

Do you guys think or know if all compass mirrors are going to have the battery drain issue when retrofitted to our verts?

The cadillac seville R/V has map lights and compass...dont know about color of display.