OK I need advice on 5 speed swap or not

hmdznrcld

OK here we go, I found a crate motor for my 91 GTP which is in great shape exterior and interior. I have a 93 SE with a 5 speed. Would the car be more valuable with a 5 speed swap or left as an auto?

I have never attempted this particular swap as I am VERY new to the W-Body world. I do love the fit in those GTP seats!! Bladders everywhere. Now that I have to replace the engine anyway may as well make it a 5 speed right??

I am 60-40 right now on doing it but have my some hesitation on following thru. I am not sure how long after putting the engine in I will actually even keep the car

YOUR THOUGHTS ??

Thanks

If you're not going to keep the car, why go to that much work?

I'd take a gtp/5 speed combo ANY day in my 92. And cry tears of joy. From what I understand though, parts are scarce to do the 5 speed swap on these... so a complete 5 speed gp (Anything) is worth a bit more... And a GTP with AQ9s? hrm.

Make it a 5 speed.. if you're gonna keep it. IMHO.

coming from someone who has been there.... a 5 speed swap is a good deal of work.... to do "correctly' not a weekend project.

Ahh the seats! I love em too :mrgreen: I realize that this would be alot of work and may just force me "wink" to keep the car.

White93, what would you say was the toughest part to do?

for me getting the hydrulic system working sucked, but I had a defective slave cyl, so $300 later i was back in action.

it wasen't too hard persay but tearing apart the entire interior and engine bay kinda sucked

The whole interior has to come out? So maybe a few weeks of work would do the trick?

I am going to check the slave and make sure that puppy is good cause before I consider this.

When I drive the 5 speed I have to completely let of the gas before I can upshift.

do it! You won't regret.