Can't remove alternator on 3100 SFI

steve147

Hi everyone, I'm having a slight problem removing the alternator on my 96 Buick Century. I've never done this before and I don't really know anyone that could help me with this.

I'm assuming that this is the alternator bracket, but after I removed these 3 bolts (and the lighter colored one), it still doesn't move. Are there any bolts in the back I need to remove? (I have already taken the serpentine belt off).

Thanks guys.

img_0001.jpg

No its on the other side of the alternator.

Look in your pic, in the lower right corner the is a SMALL round bracket mounted to the back of the alt and the manifold.

Thanks for the quick reply! I removed all of black ones that are for the bracket and the one that is partially out in the picture.

The bolt for the round bracket has a small rubber hose in the way that is going into the manifold. I'm assuming that this would be a vacuum line. Can I just pull this off? It doesn't have a clamp or anything attached to it.

That's a '96 3100?? That doesn't look like a CS-130D. Usually the fans are inside the casing on the newer ones.

Maybe that's only on W's though.

I vote crowbar. :lol:

Also, 6300 posts!

Ok guys, I tried pulling off the (vacuum line?) but the rubber tore on one side of it. I looked further down and its hooked up the a purple wire, so it can't be a vacuum line?

Can you guys tell me what the circled part is?

damn.jpg

Ok, a little bit of checking online tells me that this is something to do with the oxygen sensor. If the rubber boot is cracked a little bit am I okay to wrap it up in electrical tape? I'm still not sure of the function of this rubber hose, to insulate the wire inside?

How does this come off? I need to remove it to get at one of the alternator brackets.