Seriously considering a Pontiac Grand Prix!

_HighVoltage_

Hello, everyone!

I am new here, but I've been reading the forum for quite a while.

I'm an international student in America (WV to be specific) and currently I am looking for a car. Being a college student and a car guy at the same time, I want a reliable car that is also good looking and exciting. I've always had a thing for the first gen W-Body cars and in particular the Pontiac Grand Prix Coupe.

I know you all love your cars, but what is your honest opinion on their reliability - is it a good car for a college student that will drive it every day and will not have lots of money to fix it every week? What problems should I expect and what should I look for when I am looking at these Pontiacs.

I am absolutely determined that it has to be Pontiac Grand Prix Coupe (SE)! I would really like to find one with a manual gearbox, since back in Europe all we drive is manual cars. But from what I've read - finding a manual SE is 99.999% impossible.

Anyways, how much do you think a decent Grand Prix SE should cost? I've looked at a couple of dealerships and they had some of these cars for 6000 dollars. Are they kidding? How much money realistically do you think I should save up before I buy one?

A month ago I saw an ad for a Z34 in my area - a trade-in in a dealership for 800$. I got so excited and went to see the car, but by the time I got there it was already sold...

Now I am looking for a good GP - it doesn't have to be the TGP. I would really appreciate any help with information and opinions!

Welcome! :biggrin: What part of Europe are you from?