Bose speaker system

kfahn

ok, i want a better sound system. That said, i am considering converting my current sound system to that offered in the '97+ GP's with the Bose option. Does anyone know if that system has an amp/crossover, and what kind of wiring would be required for this project?

you would be much better off going with aftermarket....

the bose system in GM cars is very complex. the head unit in the dash is actually just a switch box. the actual compnents of the radio are in the trunk and should be mounted behind a panel on the back of the seat. you would have to gut all of that as well as all the wiring and the speakers... it would sound much better if you did aftermarket deck and speakers. not only would you save A LOT of money but you would also get much better, more controlable sound out of it.

Look in the thread about installing 6x9s. i went into detail about doing a full setup. i am a professional, MECP certified installer. you can save a lot of money and get much better shound.

but the call is yours not mine, but that is the route i would go.

- Justin

I wouldn't call it a switch box..

It's a regular Delco headunit, just without the built in amplifier. It sends preamp signals out to the amplifier which is in the trunk, behind the glove box, or, on some older bose systems, on each speaker.

I wired up an old bose system from a 94 camaro in my samurai. It wasn't too hard to do (since the vehicle is so small), but I did have to study how the system works. I don't care how it sounds, it doesn't get loud enough half of the time anyway, it's just something to listen to.