90 CS DIS install

Roadzombie

Been searching the boards for the past few hours have gotten me nowhere fast. I picked up bits and pieces, but would like to condense that into one small, bite-size package before heading to the U-Pull-It and grabbing a bunch of crap I can't use...soooo without further ado, here's the question:

I currently do not have a DIS in my car, I want to add one. From what I gather my car SHOULD be prewired for it, all I'd need is the actual DIS unit, the cubby pocket (no HUD on this car), and an "extention harness" of some sort (I'm sure I'll understand this better when I'm pulling it...). So basicly, its a Plug-and-play install without a days worth of cutting and splicing wires. Is this correct?

Also, I'm somewhat interested in doing the Electronic Climate Control upgrade as well...but this isn't a simple plug and play installation, correct?

My background is in electronics/electrical work...I'm just not interested in giant wiring jobs anymore. After the PW/PL upgrade I did on my old 89 Ford Probe GT I'm pretty much set for the next decade or so when it comes to rewiring automotive accessories. The ECC upgrade would be a nice addition, but I can live without it. But if the DIS is simply plug and play...I'm all about that kinda upgrade ;)

well if your ar is prewired for DIS you are all set. just plug in the 2 plugs from your car and thats it. If your car is prewired the wires will be tucked up behind the climate control unit. thats easy. The ECC on the other hand is a project with alot of patience and time. there is a writeup for that in the forum somewhere but it is not easy. Good luck.

So, best bet is tear the dash apart and check before heading to the junkers. Gotcha :)