hazmatic

I'm no expert on car audio but from what I understand, the number of channels is the number of speakers you can hook up to an amp. For example:

4 Channel 200W = 4 speakers can be hooked up at 50W each.

2 Channel 300W = 2 speakers can be hooked up at 150W each.

1 Channel 700W = 1 speaker can be hooked up at 700W.

And so on.

By the way, some amps allow you to choose the number of speakers you can hook up to your amp. For example:

4/2/1 Channel 400W

Option 1: 4 speakers can be hooked up at 100W each.

Option 2: 2 speakers can be hooked up at 200W each.

Option 3: 1 speaker can be hooked up at 400W.

I think that's about it. I think 1 channel amps are also called "mono" amps. I'm not sure about that though.

ur right bout the mono amps i kno that most the time there known as mono bass amps mostly made for subs wut u just told me bout the amps tho is wut i thought i just wanted to make sure but wut is a good company for amps

again, depends on what u wanna hook up. on my lumina, i have a 2 channel running 6x9 in the rear and 4 inches on the front (adapter plate used to fit 4x6 hole). if u have four speakers on a 2 channel, u will only have left and right balance control. however on mine, i have two subs in the back so the fade front to back control is used to fade from one amp to the other (sub amp to component speaker amp). kinda useless, but the extra control is there if i want it

hooking up a four channel with your speakers will give u control to balance left to right, or fade front to back, just as your stock deck would have done. its all up to u on how u wanna do it. personally, i'm cool with just a two channel for the interior speakers. i never really have the need to fade from front to back. 4 channel will also cost u more $$