CSI_MuNkY

I recently installed the subs and Amp I bought just before my car went off the road. I love it! but I have some questions. First off the subs are two 10" Rockford Fosgate P2 punches, the amp is C-bads old Kenwood 500W,.

My questions pertain to the box they are in. It is a ported Banpass box.

md-CIMG1379.JPG

Inside each of the port tubes I can see some fibreglass insulation. I'm wondering what the point of this is. What will adding or subtracting some of the insulation do to the sound?

md-CIMG1381.JPG

Secondly, the peice of plexi on the front, what will happen to the sound if that is removed?

I'm a complete Noob when it comes to sub technology, right now I'm just trying to get a feel for the basics before I go and build a custom enclosure for the trunk.

Thanx

Jamie

That box is of the plain old Bandpass variety. If you remove the plexi, it wil sound even worse as the plexi is holding the air in so it can be directed out of the ports on either side. I would ditch that box imediatelly. Bandpass boxes are no the best at anything. I recommend a nice sealed box if you like smooth easy blending bass, or a ported box if you like heavy loud bass.

Thats the box they came in. I just don't have the know how, time, or cash right now to build a new enclosure. I've got a picture in my head of what I want it to look like, I just have to get the time and do some research on building boxes. The new box will likely be sealed. My hope is to do my research and crap over the winter months and then towards the end of the winter start building it.

Jamie

Bandpass boxes have their place, but they suck IMO. Deff go with sealed if you want SQL. Most prefabs are cheap and will work well with the subs you have. Just makre sure you get one with enough cu.ft. for your subs. Or get one made. Either way its cheap.

Even a prefab sealed box from any retailer would probably sound better than that box.

x3