TGP shifting

Addicted To Boost

Hi guys I have a problem with my TGP. The tranny shifts great on all the shifts, except the shift from 1st to 2nd gear. It shifts into second VERY firmly just driving normal, and under WOT, the shift is so firm, I'm surprised that the tires don't squeal when it makes the shift; :eek: when it does the WOT shift, there is a CLUNK when it shifts, but only the 1st to 2nd gear shift. :confused: At WOT, according to my tach, it shifts at about 5,700 RPM. Oh BTW, the guy I bought the TGP from had a new tranny put in it about 10,000 miles ago. Any help will be appreciated, as I am a newbie. :razz: Thanks

well I know that all w-bodies have a rough 1-2 shift. Mine is rough too.

It is better for it to grab rough then to slip, yah know.

I would do a transmission fluid flush and add some additive..theres this stuff in a red bottle with a silver label that works wonders. It smoothed mine out alot.

It is better for it to grab rough then to slip

I know that, but I was just wondering why it was SO rough; it is a new trans. (10,000 miles on it). Would the modulator affect it at all? Where is the modulator located? thanks

I know that, but I was just wondering why it was SO rough; it is a new trans. (10,000 miles on it). Would the modulator affect it at all? Where is the modulator located? thanks

You most likely have an adjustable vacuum modulator, which you can soften up the shifts just a bit(not too much, as firmer shifts are actually better for the trans). If you look pretty much straight down from your upper radiator hose on the front side of your trans, you will see a vacuum line that plugs into something sticking out of the trans. Thats it. I forget what size bolt holds the clip that holds it down, but it's just one bolt, then it comes out. You adjust the modulator at the top. You should see a screw.