Lumina failed NYS inspection results in good laugh

Hairdo12

Yesterday I took the Lumina in for the Safty/emmisions inspection and I was told it failed by the mechanic. Reason why it failed was because I was leaking power steering fluid. I have been leaking power steering fluid for about oh 5 years now and never had a problem, I just top off the fluid about every 10 months or so. Now you must be asking what is so funny about this? The quote to fix the leak is as follows:

Rack and pinion $400

High pressure line $ 125

Fluid $30

Front end alignment $70

Labor $423

Total: $1048

The guy says this to me "So a, what do you wanna do? We offer 90 day credit if you need some help. Oh by the way your intake manifold gaskets are leaking too, do you want me to give you a quote to fix those as well?" My responce is this "(a little giggle) screw you buddy, I'm gonna take the car home, hose the under side with the garden hose and get it reinspected." The look on the guys face was one to remember and I wish I had a camera. Sure enough I did just that and it passed without a problem... I even got a nice complement about the shape my car was in. The guy who did the second inspection asked why it failed the first time and I told him they said the outter tierod end was bad... which I knew was just fine and that it only shows up on the computer the car failed due to steering and suspension.

I know some of you guys get a good kick out of retarded price quotes.

I grew up in NY and even worked in a shop..and we did inspections.That guy was really trying to rob ya!(we knew that already)