Taking car out of storage

lothos

Hi all, it's been a while since I've been here. I tried searching the forums but didn't find anything pertinant to my situation.

I have a 1992 Cutlass Supreme LS that has been in storage for the past year. When I used it the car ran extremely well for having 220,000 miles on it. Good gas mileage, good power.

I'm not an auto mechanic by any means and have been learning with the Cutlass. I'm about to take the car out of storage and was wondering if anyone would have any tips for me, as far as how to get it running again. To begin with I was pretty good about running it every couple weeks but now the battery is dead. It was new before going into storage. Will it hold a charge after this? Should I change the oil right away, and change it again after driving it for a couple days? What about the gas, should I be using some kind of stabalizer for that? Seafoam maybe? The plugs are pretty recently change before storage, as are the wires.

Any useful suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Change the oil before starting it. As for the battery, it should hold a charge but it's possible that it won't. When storing a car you should either pull the battery and keep it somewhere warm or have a trickle charger hooked to it.

what turby said, when i had my z34 out of commission last summer the battery went dead and woulden't take a charge, then again it was lord knows how old.

i'd hook up a battery, check the fluids, and turn the key.

drive it for a little, change the oil and call it a day.

i'd also check over the tires to be sure that dry-rot hasen't set in, but it should be fine.

The gas tank has about half a tank of year old gas in it as well. Seafoam for that? The two posts so far have kind of had conflicting advice, should I change the oil before starting it or after driving it for a little?

Anything else I should be looking for?