Need some SERIOUS HELP with my TURBO!

bodyman

I have a 1990 Turbo Grand Prix, a couple of moths ago it stared to smoke. I emailed a couple of people on this site and they could be two things, oil return line, or the seals in the turbo. I changed the oil return line, which was bad but it still smoked. So I took off the turbo and shipped it out to Turbo Nodics or cheapturbo.com. I spoke with Ken, and he told me there was nothing they could do with my turbo. So my SERIOUS question is…where can I buy another turbo that will not break me. I know there was a couple of people that bought one on here that set them back about $1000.00, which is not too bad. But I’m not really good with knowing what type/kind of turbo I could get. I would like to find one that I do not have to mess around with to make it work. I want to get it and bolt it on and go. Or, have one a little bit bigger then stock :biggrin:. Hopefully someone has some good useful information for me, I look forward to hearing from you.

i just bought my tgp,but with my turbo buicks ,if you wanted to remain factory and save some mula,you can buy just a turbo CENTER and rebuild turbo yourself....i could get buick centers for $200-300,anyone here know where to buy?if you want to upgrade the masterminds here will point you in the right direction.

THAT IS A CROCK O' SHIT THEY ARE FEEDING YOU!!

The only time NOTHING can be done with a turbo is if the compressor wheel housing is cracked/split or the turbine housing is cracked/split. Even then you can replace just those housings. Everything else is replaceable. The center cartridge is rebuildable/replaceable, the compressor wheel, the turbine fan...EVERYTHING IS REPLACEABLE!

GET IT BACK FROM THEM! Get with Invasion1 for the place he uses to build/rebuild his turbo's. :cool:

I guess I have just never heard of a turbo being completely dead. :redface:

Maybe they meant it would be cheaper to replace then repair all that is wrong with it.