programming wire!?!

91cutty

I am trying to fix the kelyless entry for my 91 cutlass international and its says in the repair page that I can ground the programming wire in the trunk. Small problem... I have no clue which is the programming wire!

By the way I'm new to this group so I might as well introduce myself. I'm a student at University of Manitoba, Canada. (Yep... way up north... lol) I bought my 3.1L International last year and unfortunately have had nothing but problems since. (Over 1500 has been put into it already!) I thought since the weather is getting nicer here and the snow is melted I would start fixing all the small annoying things like my keyless entry.

Anyway, any info on this programming wire would be great, and does anyone know how to check to see if the transmitter is actually working?

Thanks in advance,

Andrew

Thanks for the warm welcome!!!

In the meantime I already found the answer to the programming wire but still have no ideas of how to check the functionality of the transmitter.

Remote=transmitter.

I don't know anyone else who owns a w-body or any other cars with same keyless entry that I could test it on. I guess the easiest way would be to resolder the joints on the pcb of the reciever and hope that it fixes the problem!

Guest Anonymous

Did you ground the programming wire yet? If not, ground it and see if the module in the car works. If the locks all cycle then hit a button on the remote. That would be an easy way to see if it works.

Are the batteries new? That would be something to check if the remote doesn't work.