Factory Stereo Questions

Mike

Hey Guys

I'm new here, I have an 89 Cutlass Supreme International Coupe and I love it! It's great too see that there are others out there just a crazy about there cars as me. I have a question for all of those who have removed there factory stereo. I was just wondering how to go about it (I know this seems like a stupid question but I'm not very experienced in this area). Anyways I have tried to remove the factory head unit (delco loc II) but can't seem to unplug the cables in the back - is there any special trick to remove the cables, I mean are the connectors locked in a special way. I don't want to yank and possible wreck the cables or connectors - I just want to remove the head unit so I can repair my cd player. Does anybody have a step by step procedure for removing the factory unit? Any help would greatly be appreciated,

Thanks

Mike

BTW this is an awesome site - keep up the good work

Welcome!

On my '89, the factory stereo connectors have a latch that you press in on while pulling the connector straight out. The plastic latch is locked by a little red plastic locking thing that you have to pop out. Then you can press the latch and pull the connectors out.

Newer ones don't have the little red plastic locks, but I distinctly remember '89 does, so that might be the source of your trouble.

Hey Luke, very nice write up on your site. I have done pretty much that with the cassette players. I didn't know the CD units could be replaced.....I might have to search ebay and some yards now...

Also forgot to add that even if you get a unit that is not the same part number, if it has the same plug it should work. At least the cassettes do.

if i got a cd player for my regal , factory, can i just take out the casette deck and swap in a cd player? i have the radio with seperate cassette.

and on those is it possible to add a cd changer and an amp?