Fuel Pump staying on

TeeJay3800

Its been a long time since I've posted here, so hopefully this is in the correct section.

My fuel pump has been staying on after I shut the car off. I replaced the fuel pump relay thinking that would fix the problem, but the pump continues to run even with the new relay. After a while it seems to shut off by itself. What would cause the pump to stay on other than a stuck relay?

The pump also sounds different than it used to. It's sound is kind of a lower tone than it used to be. What else should I look at besides the relay??

Thanks guys

Its weird that you mention oil pressure because my oil pressure gauge has been doing some strange things lately. Sometimes it will be normal, other times it will be stuck pegged on max. Where is this switch and how hard/expensive is it to replace?

Thanks for the help.

I'm new to the W-body and their associated engines myself, so as far as it's specific location, I do not know. I just know that the general oil pressure switch circuitry hasn't changed much from car to car. Try looking down by the oil filter. You will be looking for something that looks like this:

PS245.jpg

It has 3 wires in its pigtail.

As far as your gauge reading funny, yea, that makes sense, especially if you have a combined sensor for the gauge and a switch for the fuel pump circuit.

As for replacing, when I had to replace my Camaro's, it was only like $20, it's not an expensive part. As for difficulty, it's not too bad (depending on location). just unplug the pigtail and get a wrench around it's base and take it out.

I'm not sure about the oil pressure switch, but I know the oil pressure sending unit is right next to the oil filter. I'm assuming on our engines its the same thing. Since my gauge has been acting funny, I'll take that as a sign that the unit is bad. If the fuel pump runs based on oil pressure, and the sending unit indicates high pressure (engine running), that might explain why my pump continues to run.