Turbo boost problem

mechtech8100

Ok... this is not my car. I am a technician at a local shop and have run into a problem with a 1990 Pontiac Grand Prix STE turbo. This problem has baffled me at this point and I am hoping I might be able to find some further help from this site.

The problem: The car came in for plugs and wires changed and now it has a really bad stumble or misfire. As to attempt to solve this problem the cars codes were all cleared before I got to see them. The car still would not run right and at that point I hooked the diagnostic computer and drove it up the road. When I took off I looked at the wastegate reading and as soon as it revved up the wastegate went 100%. That is where I started to get more confused as the owner came there and I talked to this individual and I was told that unknowingly to this person this car has always had this condition. I have fixed a few vacuum leaks so far but I am running out of ideas as there are no codes currently but there is a cracked cross pipe at the turbo flange that we are fixing. Could that cause this?

Well any help would be great and after I fix the cross pipe I will let you know if that fixed the problem some or not. But any other ideas would be great.

Thanks

well, being very tired and just off the top of my head, you *may* have a MAP problem. That will cause your stumble, and as I'm sure you know, the 100% W/G sol. means the comp. feel's that it needs to pull boost. I thought of a sol. line problem (atmosphere to sol.) but that shouldn't cause a stumble. Of course if the MAP shows 15 psi, and tries to add fuel accordingly, and you are only getting 3-4 psi, at low angle, you could get a nasty stumble/misfire. HTH.

FWIW, this is the best group of people you could have come to for your problem, hope we can help. :mrgreen:

Came in for plugs....

I would say with no flame intended here (because I have done this) , check to make sure the wires are in the correct order....