noob here with first question

matttrakker350

Hey everyone, I just found this message board and can't believe I did! Awesome! The last time I looked online about these cars I didn't find much at all, but that was about 2 years ago.

Might as well introduce myself, I'm Matt from Boston and I just got an 89 GP LE coupe from my dad for 100 bucks that's been sitting in our driveway for like 2 years. He stopped driving it because he became pissed at the brake problems after getting new calipers about 3 times... :D Plus my little brother had taken it without permission once and got rear ended, so the trunk, taillights, fillerpanel, and back bumper are from an SE and are all a different color. It looks pretty ghetto. (Ironically my little brother now has a white 95 GP SE coupe thats actually pretty nice.)

Anyway, I have a 74 Impala Sport Coupe and an 88 GMC Suburban 3/4 ton, and I wanted a cheap 3rd veh. to drive and fix up a little that actually got good gas mileage unlike my other vehicles, and well, you get the idea...

It needs a few things like paint and interior work, brakes, struts, all the usual stuff for these cars that breaks, but the drivetrain is great.

My first question is about the digital gauge cluster. The thing broke when my dad was still driving the car, and he just used it that way for about a year and a half. I took the whole dash apart (a year ago when my dad was thinking about fixing up the car) and have the cluster ready to be removed. For one I can't get the connector apart. How do I do this without breaking it? I haven't looked at it recently but I remember it being a PITA.