Remedies for peeling paint?

wally05

Hey guys, i have some paint peeling on the roof and a tiny bit on the trunk of my black cutty (will get pics when possible). Anyone know any cheap remedies for this? I'm currently rebuilding the brakes and some other things and can't afford to do anything expensive to it. But, I also can't let it and keep peeling...

Korey

Slap some wax on it and hope for the best..

There's really nothing you can do about it. GM used cheap paint (my 88 GP was HORRIBLE!) and the spoiler on my current car is peeling too. It will have to be sanded and repainted.

I'm chasing a spot of peeling paint across my hood and roof. Just paint on some touch up paint, wax over it (after it sets for a few days) then if it starts peeling, touch it up. I've been doing this for 2+ years now and I slowed the peeling process down a lot.

Feather sand the edges of the paint and then get some touch up paint, and cover it up. I did that on my cutty and it seemed to work pretty good, if you take your time painting it should look pretty decent, make sure you get the exact match touch up paint.

Anyone want to take me through feather-sanding the paint? My body work experience is pretty limited. I helped my cousin restore his 85 camaro z28, but that was awhile ago.

Korey

you feather the paint by roughing up the surrounding paint about 6 inches around the spot you need to touch up. then you wet sand that area. primer it if you feel like you need to. or you can just paint the spot.

I'll tell you how I plan on dealing with the peeling paint on my Regal: PRESSURE WASHER!

Although I haven't attempted to "patch" the areas that have peeled away on my 95 Regal, I used to have an 87 Grand Am that had badly peeling paint. After it started peeling, I tried touching up the "bald" areas, but the paint kept peeling off around the areas I touched up.