Keyless Entry

Redwolf

First off, something to get out of the way.

Hi! I'm a newbie, please don't hurt me.

That said. I have a 94 Regal GS, which I've had for close to a year now. I'm pretty sure that it came with a keyless entry system out of the factory, but the guy who sold it to me said he didn't ever have a remote for it (the car's changed hands 4 times now though, so that could be why :roll: ). Reading through my Hayes repair book and the internet, it seems that was a standard feature on those models.

First off, if this car does have a keyless entry system where would the receiver for the keyless entry system be located?

Secondly, is it possible to have the dealer get me a new remote for the system, or would they have to replace the whole keyless entry system to get it to work again? And if they could just give me a remote, would they still charge me an arm and a leg to reprogram it?

You can see if you have a RKE (remote keyless entry) system by looking in the trunk on the passenger side behind the carpet. If you have RKE there will be a purple wire with a black connector on the end of it. This is near where the antenna goes in the trunk.

The dealership can order you a remote, they run about $60-$80 I think. You can get one on Ebay for much cheaper, but no garantee it works, but most do.

Read this post for info on programming the new remote. If you pay the dealership to do this for you, you are a fool.

http://www.w-body.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22204&highlight=program+programme+rke

$90 plus labor for something that simple? Yeah, you would be a fool to do that :lol: