Hi...(New to W-Body.com)

Redwingvksm

Hello all. Will be getting a Canadian 1989 Buick Regal Grand Sport tomorrow (Some paperwork has to be filled out in Customs). 3.1, Optional Digital Dash, Leather Steeringwheel, etc...

I have never delt with W-Bodies. I am a State certified mechanic in Michigan - so I know how to repair and have extensive knowlege in fixing vehicles - but I don't know the specifics for my newly accquired vehicle.

1. Will a First Gen 3800 be a direct swap w/ the 3.1 (Becides computer/some wiring/ect...)

2. Sound. Man - I had to fix the wiring in one of these suckers. It has the main control unit under the dash. Is there a way to by-pass this EASLIY (I really don't feel like soldering wires) or maybe use it inline with a new Radio?

I'm sure I'll have more - but let me drive it. First ever GM owned. Have always been a Chrysler Man...

:)

well if you are doing a swap do a L67 swap (SC 3800) yes it will bolt to the trans but you will want the 4t65hd, you are a state certified mechanic and you have never delt with W-bodies! where are you working because they are all over here.

also you are a "mechanic" and you drive Chryslers! you must really like fixing junk. get your GM and stick with GM. :wink:

Haha - let the Chrysler jokes rip here...:D

I have delt with W-bodies - but just straight. Never customised one/engine swap/etc... (Most of them here are WT vehicles. All rusted n' busted)

Got lucky with mine (Not a spot of rust anywhere)

I live in Walled Lake, MI. real close to you and I know what is here. I thought you meant "I have never worked on one!" ummm you can do the supercharged 3800 swap with the 4t65hd trans with the pcm and all the custom wiring. but that regal GS will haul some serious ass! where do you work?

Mileage Masters Automotive (In Melvindale) but use to work at Dick Genthe Chevrolet...(Wwwaayyy after the 1st gen W-bodies went out :P)