Newbie with 92 Z34 5spd ??

MaXxOd

Happy New Year!.......I am a newb to these cars, but really like what I see on this site. This seems to be a cool place to hang out and talk cars.....

I recently found a 1992 Lumina Z34 5spd for sale. The car is in great shape, but the car has high milage. 197,000 mi. Is this a rare care with the 5spd?

The car is red with grey interior. I can get the car for $1,200...maybe less.

Are the 3.4 DOHC engines hard to locate in the bone yards?

Anything specific to the 5spd cars?

Thanx ahead for any responses......

:D

Guest Anonymous

197,000 is high for that motor. I'm not saying it's junk but if proper maint. wasn't done, forget it. Find out how old the timing belt and alternator are.

grab it up. those cars are fun, I'd kill for a 5 speed in my cutlass. oh well, engines can be fixed, and if it runs, I'm sure a fresh oil change, coolant, a new t belt, and some other, minor, usually overlooked maintainence will bring it around to the good if it isn't there already.

I agree with everybody on this. Your going to have to find out about any maintenace, but you can replace that 3.4 with a j/y motor. The 5 speed is what makes this car sound appealing IMHO. Goodluck

im freaking jealous. i wanted a Z34 5-speed for so long(mine was AT) but i could never find one in my area. it may need some maint. but they are so fun to drive. its a head turner too cuz a lot of people asked me what it was cuz they thought it was a beretta. it is rare with a 5-speed BTW. thats a killer price too. GET IT!!!