Newbie ques on ABS

bbqen2

I've read everything I could find on a search for ABS probs. I'm kinda new at mechanics, but I HATE paying shop prices. I have a 93 Lumina and the ABS light stays on all the time. I've already paid $200 to get it fixed but it came back on almost immediately. This is my wifes car and she said at times she hears a "squishing" sound. I just replaced back rotors and pads the front ones were replaced about a yr ago. I've bled all 4 brakes as wellas the front and rear ABS on the master cyl. I read where you can just pull the fuse under the hood. Will this work on our 93? Are there any downsides to pulling the fuse?

One thing I noticed this morning, I jacked up the front end and started the car. The ABS light came on for a few seconds and then whent off. This is what it should do. I put the car in gear gave it some gas and hit the brakes. The ABS light stayed off. Could this be because there was no weight on the wheels?

Thanks for your help

Dan

Sounds like a faulty wire for the ABS wheel speed sensor. There should be one in each hub IIRC. Locate the sensors, jiggle the wire and have the wife watch for the light. That will tell you which one is bad.

As far as pulling the fuse, there would be no harm in that. You'd just have to look at the ABS light in the dash all the time. The regular brakes will function normally.

Sounds like a faulty wire for the ABS wheel speed sensor. There should be one in each hub IIRC. Locate the sensors, jiggle the wire and have the wife watch for the light. That will tell you which one is bad.

As far as pulling the fuse, there would be no harm in that. You'd just have to look at the ABS light in the dash all the time. The regular brakes will function normally.

:werd: abs makes w-body brakes more dangerous than they already are.

newer abs systems are much better though

My TGP w/ ABS stops assloads better than the CS w/o it :think: if I put the pedal to the floor, I STOP, not slow down..