introduction and a few questions

slayer

Hello eveyone. I'm new here and don't own a w-body....yet. My girlfriend ownes a 94 cutlass supreme though. I'm 20 years old and currently drive 98 s-10 snail..er..I mean truck. I'm a huge performance nut. I had to sell my GTA trans am, and I've had the itch ever since. Being a college student I'm looking for a low budget/high performance car.

I have two questions for y'all.

1. I the other day I was driving and noticed an early 90's gtp for sale for $300. I called the guy and he said the timing belt broke while he was driving. He basically just wants to get rid of the car and not go through the hastle of fixing it or paying someone to do it. It has about 150k miles on it. When a timing belt breaks on one of these cars, what does it take with it. Should I expect the valves to be dammaged? I am mechanacally enclined enough to fix it myself(and I read the walkthrough on 60degreev6.com). so how much money should I expect to shell out on the new belt, pully, tensioner, and possibly valves?

2. about how much do these cars weigh.

Thanks. Any general info will also bu much appreciated.

:twisted: slayer :twisted:

Being a college student I'm looking for a low budget/high performance car.

I'm a college student as well, so I hear ya, BUT w-bodies do NOT make good low budget/high performance cars. :(

They weigh between 3100-3500 pounds generally (the convertible Cutlass was the heaviest).

Oh! do they ever! bend the valves that is, you will have to have the valves replaced or replace the heads. Get them shaved and the car will haul ass, with them off already! good performance upgrade!

w-bodys are easy 2 swap motors in :lol:

if you can turn a wrench and not afraid 2 get in over ya head, the 3.4 motor is a great motor. You can also bolt in a 2.8/3.1/3100/3400 if you want something a bit easyer to work on without as much power.

low buck hi perf - camaro/mustang/LT1 into your s10, etc etc etc

welcome 2 the site